Missing Starbucks

img_5693

At the coffee shop, I fall in love with people

who linger over their drinks

who gaze outside of windows,

deeply lost in their thoughts.

But by the time I get up and speak to them

They are long gone.*

*written by me and inspired by Alaska Gold

img_5767

img_5443

As I’m no longer studying in Brighton I miss this place and my friends I met there more and more each day. Even though I’m happy and really busy here in Luxembourg I do miss living on my own and strolling around the beach after a long day at the library. So for anyone who’s looking for a laid-back and relaxing (WE) trip I’d definitely suggest Brighton, which is only one hour away from London. There will be a post about Brighton soonish.
I also miss spending a lot of time in Starbucks and having my regular hot chocolate with cream. Starbucks is just the perfect place for people who seek inspiration, for catch-ups with friends and or mostly for simply observing strangers passing by. The following passage is something I wrote some time ago:

It’s a well-known cliché: the wannabe writer sitting at the coffee shop around the corner with their drink and laptop whilst typing away on their keyboard errr novel. There’s something about its atmosphere that makes Starbucks so incredibly popluar for young and old. Is it their wide range of hot and cold beverages, their breakfast/lunch snacks or is it simply the people that give Starbucks its warm and intimate character? I don’t know but I’ll go back enough often to find out eventually.

img_5770

2 Gedanken zu „Missing Starbucks“

  1. As a fellow Starbucks-endorser, I understand and agree with what you said about the place. By now, it might have the „Hipster“-tag but it is so much more than just a „fashion statement“, after all it is still a café, a place of encounter and having a break of the everyday life. I just love it and could spend hours there! I just hope that the company will find its way to Luxembourg at some point…
    In any case, nice post 🙂

    Gefällt mir

    1. Thank you for your long and nice comment 🙂 I also agree, it’s slightly annoying that a lot of people think of Starbucks as the new-old hipster place even though it’s much more than that 🙂

      Gefällt mir

Kommentar verfassen

